To An Ocean Of Violence/A World Of Empty Streets

Grim bits of news I’ve been following:

Terrible suicide bombings in Afghanistan. Lots of families mourning in Kabul tonight.

A Russian Neo-Nazi group has released a  list of journalists, activists and academics involved in anti-racism and human rights activities that its members intend to kill over the next year. Courageous human rights defender Galina Kozhevnikova of the SOVA Centre is on that list.  The Russian state isn’t taking the threats against Kozhevnikova and others too seriously. Journalists and activists, like Russia’s poor and preyed upon migrant workers (even more on their plight here) aren’t people the regime exactly minds seeing eliminated. Russian civil society is  literally being wiped out at a frightening pace.

Mass displacement and mounting civilian casulaties in Sri Lanka’s civil war. Hundreds of thousands are trapped and in need of assistance.

Extreme right Dutch MP Geert Wilders is not being allowed to enter the UK because the British Government fears his presence will trigger social unrest. As much as I think Wilders is a creep, I also think the UK is setting a dangerously anti-free speech precendent here. As far as I know (and I follow news of the extreme right in Europe closely), Wilders has never said anything that could be interpreted as an attempt to incite violence. Racists and xenophobes are nasty people, but allowing them to spew venom within the boundaries of peaceful speech  is a price we pay to live in open societies.

The vast majority of refugees in the US contend with everything poor native-born Americans do, with the added challenges of language barriers and conflict-related physical and mental health problems. The recession (are we allowed to use the D word yet?) is predictably making their hard lives even harder. More on this soon.

Ocean of Noise – by Arcade Fire

Ocean of noise
I first heard your voice
Ring like a bell
As if I had a choice, oh well

Left in the morning
While you were fast asleep
To an ocean of violence
A world of empty streets

You’ve got your reasons
And me, I’ve got mine
But all the reasons I gave
Were just lies
To buy yourself some time

An ocean of noise
I first heard your voice
Now who here among us
Still believes in choice?
Not I

No way of knowing
What any men will do
An ocean of violence
Between me and you

You’ve got your reasons
And me, I’ve got mine
But all the reasons I gave
Were just lies
To buy myself some time

And can we work it out?
It’s time to work it out
Gonna work it out
It’s time to work it out for you
We’re gonna work it all out
It’s time to work it out
We’re gonna work it out
It’s time to work it out
Time to work it all out

Leave a Reply

