Bits and Pieces

Well, looks like Sudan is on its way to becoming even more of a clusterfuck. It’s times like these I wish I believed in an afterlife, so I could imagine a really nasty Hell for the likes of Sudanese president Omar al-Bashir.

***

So…I’ve been whining about jobs on here for a while. Well, I have two offers now, or, kind of one and a half offers. Or one in hand and one…nevermind.

Offer no. 1 is a short term consultancy-type thing stateside that would employ my tech and media skills, but nothing else. I would be sitting in front of a computer screen, 9 to 5, being geeky. The pay would not be great, but I would not have to worry about the electric company cutting me off –and frankly, in this economy, that’s what passes for economic security.

Offer no. 2 is dependant on not too many horrible things completely out of my control happening in Kabul before July. It’s an unpaid internship, and one that would allow me to really jump into field work and be the intern of one of my favourite aid-worker-bloggers!  I don’t have all the details yet, and again, it’s dependent on there not being a catastrophic escalation in violence.

***

I have been sleeping very deeply for the past few nights. What’s up with that? I’m usually a fitful sleeper.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One thought on “Bits and Pieces

  1. Wow! That sounds really great. Congratulations. I’ve been having a similar dilemma lately – choosing between something more stable or something more exciting…it’s a difficult choice but I say you should do what you are most passionate about, provided everything works out of course. If you don’t take those opportunities that you are truly excited about, that’s probably what you’ll regret later on.

Leave a Reply

