Random thoughts

Because all I ever do is go to work, go to school, go home, sleep, and do it all over again the next day –and I don’t have a car– I have a lot of time alone with my thoughts, probably too much.

Things that popped into my head today:

1) I smelled diesel while walking to buy groceries. Instantly, I thought of Mitrovica, Kosovo. The strong smell of fuel, generators going noisily in front on every shop on the main street. The Faint’s “Glass Danse” started playing in my head, because it played on my ipod when I walked down that street in Kosovo.

2) I got shocked on an electric fence in high school, during an “extreme scavenger hunt.” I probably would have avoided the electric wire if I hadn’t been wearing a cumbersome sorceress’ cape. For most of my life, I’ve been a pretty austere individual, but I have cut loose a few times.

3) My ringworm and I are closing in on our one year anniversary.  It’s not so bad now, thank goodness, and I have been careful to see that Z doesn’t catch it from me. Overshare? Maybe.

4) My boss calls me by the same variation-on-my-real-name nickname some of my colleagues in Bosnia did. That makes me happy and sad at the same time.

5) Alright, I give in. As soon as the job-hunting, school-finishing craziness in my life winds down, I will get into Battlestar Gallactica.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 thoughts on “Random thoughts

Leave a Reply

